top of page

Entry Ten: Last Day of School

WHAT TIME IS IT? SUMMER TIME ITS OUR VACATION

(tell me you didn't read this to the tune of HSM2, come on lie to me)

When you think about the last day of school the majority of the time you have memories of excitement and difficult concentrating in class (cuz what really can you learn on the last day of school). Almost everyone one of these long awaited days are filled with happiness. There are I believe the rare few where you do become a tad nostalgic, the endings are more bittersweet or even a little scary.

Unsurprisingly these endings tend to align themselves when you are leaving somewhere "permanently."

When you leave elementary school you are parting with the only school you have really known thus far, arguably you do a lot and grow a lot in this school and you don't know whats coming next (your only experience with middle school being Ned's Declassified School Survival Guide). Middle school is when you start forming some of your closest friends, two of my best friends to this day I met in middle school, your not quite sure how these relationships are going to translate to big bad high school. Graduating high school is a reality check, your going off on your own and your usually preparing to say good bye to the place you grew up, perhaps this is the hardest one, thus far... that is until you reach college graduation... you all know how I dealt with that one, I decided to move to India for a year (I can just hear my psych professors listing off defense mechanisms).

After college, I think that most people think they are done saying goodbye, at least until they retire, but me being an overachiever I managed to fit one more difficult last day of school in.

To be honest, I think that my last day of Holy Cross was perfect, I honestly don't think I could have asked for anything better.

As per usual, I woke up a little later then I should have, today it being a little more problematic then usual as I had to put on my uniform saree, but to my surprise and excitement I was able to drape and pleat it all within 15 mins (it used to take me an hour, so SUCCESS). A quick breakfast before taking on our final walk to school.

The kids came to school in "coloured dress" meaning they didn't wear their uniforms but their "normal clothes" and they sat for their final exam (General Knowledge for Class 1-5, Hindi for Class 6-8). Expectedly the students had a hard time keeping quiet for this exam, having the pent up energy of two weeks of testing, the upcoming celebration, and the beginning of the much awaited summer holiday, so somehow even exam duty was able to make me smile.

Most of the teachers were arranging and assisting the KG teacher put together the final touches for KG graduation, we weren't allowed to help, but we weren't told why... hmmmm... so I got to pop into classes and see my students before and after having lunch which was so nice to see them after not having them since the beginning of exams.

Around 2 o'clock, KG graduation began, the graduating class were all in adorable costumes for their upcoming dance performances. The LKG students performed some of the action songs that I have been working on with them through out the year.

IT WAS ALL SO CUTE

Then after many speeches, dances, prayers and a send off ceremony, the traditional Holy Cross celebration spiel the UKG students received their certificates and walked across the stage in adorable caps and gowns.

DAY MADE, I was so proud of my babies that I got to see grow through out the year.

Once the ceremony ended, students began to leave. I got so many hugs and so many "don't forget about me"s. Some of the kids had Holi colour and sparkles and my face got a nice painting.

And everyone left

I had begun to say my final good byes.

I got to end my day as I did everyday, playing with Niya and Diya as their moms finished gathering up their work and closing up the school, then sitting and chatting with some of my favorite people at the school, the KG teachers, we stayed for an hour, not wanting or ready to say good bye just yet. We left the school at 5:15.

To be honest the reality of it all has not quite hit yet, which is why I don't think I'm am quite at the point of writing my goodbyes and my "thank you"s. I am hoping to get there during my time of travel.

Which I am currently packing for... the day of departure... hence the rushed blog post...

Trey and I are about to embark on a four-week tour around India where we are visiting about 12 places all over. We are looking to explore mountains, deserts, wonders of the world and its all real exciting and slightly terrifying, that being said if I am a bit unresponsive over the course of the next month don't blame me, blame the wifi :)

All the best and happy journey until we meet again

Wish me luck.

Final Varkala trip

(you've been so many times your homestay remembers you)

I got a little sun burned :(

All my friends

Lizzie Mam encouraging tree climbing since 1996

Hindu Celebration

Captain Marvel with Brother Jessel and Fr. Biju

Trey's Birthday

Final Bus Ride

BAHHHHHH

"Mam... HAPPY"

SPIDER MAN

Graduation Day

Peace Out


bottom of page